SportsAble Awards Dinner 2020

SportsAble, the disability sports charity, hosted its Annual Awards Dinner at Maidenhead Golf Club on Saturday evening (14th March).

Vivienne Davies, who retired as SportsAble Chairman last year, hosted the evening with sports development officer, Damian Ng. SportsAble’s new Chairman, Asghar Majeed, spoke on behalf of everyone when he took the opportunity to thank Vivienne for her  incredible commitment to the charity.

Everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening of celebration, a delicious three-course meal and socialising with friends and supporters of the club. Nearly 100 people attended the event and more than 34 trophies and awards were presented in recognition of the incredible commitment, contribution and success individuals have made throughout 2019.

The prestigious Wilkinson Sword trophy was awarded to Tamas Gaspar in recognition of his outstanding achievements in Archery. This  year Tamas won his first international gold medal in Dubai and is now ranked 6th in the world.

This year’s Annual Awards evening was made possible by two of SportsAble’s generous supporters: SDL Foundation and Maidenhead Golf Club. SDL Foundation sponsored all of the trophies, including engraving, interior decoration and raffle prizes. As well as being the Captain’s Charitable choice for 2020, Maidenhead Golf Club generously provided SportsAble with use of its conference and clubhouse facilities for the Awards dinner.

If you know someone living with physical or sensory disability who may enjoy trying sport and physical activity, please get in touch with SportsAble by calling 01628 627690 or email


George Newberry Cup Best Prone Rifle Shooter; open to every disabled shooter. Air Weapons Helen Legg
Sharpshooter Plaque The best improved Pistol or rifle shooter over the year. Air Weapons Joyce Pengelly
Blind Shooter Award The outstanding visually impaired shooter Air Weapons Tim Morrice
Phyllis James Cup Male or Female – Most Notable performance or general endeavour. Archery Tamas Gaspar
Ron Dyason Handicap Cup For the most improved archer. Archery Nigel Dewing
Archery Pro Helper Plate The archery helper who has contributed most throughout the year. Archery Brendan King
Bouron Senior Most notable Senior performance or general endeavour. Boccia Emma Shuttleworth
Bouron Junior Most notable Junior performance or general endeavour. Boccia Sonia-Mae Peacock
Boccia Singles League – Disabled Winners of Boccia Singles League (Disabled). Boccia (Winner: Penny Froude) (Runner Up: Dave Hill)
Boccia Summer League Winners of SportsAble Boccia Summer League Boccia (Winner: Jean Halkett & Jasper Grannum)
(Runner up: Dave Hill & Lynne Barber)
Outstanding Golfer Award Most notable performance or general endeavour. Golf Lisa McCarthy
Player of the Season For the person who has contributed most to the Pool Section Pool Neil Godson
The Gibbs Trophy Most notable performance or general endeavour in New Age Kurling. Kurling Ian Donovan
The Endeavour Cup Most notable JUNIOR performance or general endeavour. Swimming Jacob Kaye-Taylor
The Mona Younis Appreciation Shield Aimed to encourage young swimming helpers – for the young swimming helper who has contributed most throughout the year. Swimming Chesna Mitra
The Ng Trophy Most improved junior swimmer Swimming Mia Rose
Summer League Shield Winners of the SportsAble Summer League Table Tennis (Winners: Denise / Lucie Bouron) (Runners Up: Martin Peacock / Richard Barton)
Vamvakas Shield Spirit of the Summer League – Someone who encompasses all aspects of the Summer League Table Tennis Anthony Hornby
Ray Fields Winners of the Team Target Hexathlon Target-Hex Team Kurling
Individual Target Hexathlon Winner of the Individual Target Hexathlon. Target-Hex Jean Halkett
Coaches Award Most notable performance or general endeavour. WCBB David Pengelly
The Harris MVP Trophy Most notable performance or general endeavour as voted for by the team. WCBB David Pengelly



Surinder Benawra Memorial Trophy Most notable junior performance or general endeavour. Club Verity Carty
The Colin Bance Cup For the individual who has achieved most across a variety of sports throughout the year. Club Dave Hill/Sukhi Gidda
Volunteer Awards For the (usually able-bodied) helper who has contributed most to the non-wet sports throughout the year. Club Katie Slater/Daisy Morgan
Sports Personality Cup The individual who has contributed something special to non-wet sports throughout the year. Club Andrew Long
The George Schaffer Trophy For the club member with the most notable general endeavour throughout the year Club Joyce Pengelly
SGT Leisure Award Awarded to the club member who best helps other disabled members Club Trevor Montague
The Walker Family Trophy For the FAMILY who has supported SportsAble most throughout year Club The Kuschels
The Kairos Trophy To be awarded to the club member who has made the maximum use of the OPPORTUNITIES presented by SportsAble. Club Jean Halkett
The Jenkins Trophy For FUND-RAISING excellence. Club Anne Dewing
The President’s Cup Awarded to the club member who has provided excellent service to the club over a number of years. Club Jean Schaffer
The Chairman’s Trophy Awarded to the Team of the Year Club Golf Team
Wilkinson Sword Awarded to the club member who has excelled in the highest level of competitive sport during the year. Club Tamas Gaspar